my monday

I am seeing Ed Richards of Ofcom this morning; the eloquent new shadow consumer spokesman, John Penrose in the afternoon; and Schools Minister Jim Knight this evening.

Last time I saw Jim Knight, I told him of my middle son who is outraged that his school is still teaching to test his year for SATS when government ended this as a compulsory exam recently. What other laws do they want to break? he asks. What are they going to teach us next – drink driving? The Minister reported that 30% of state schools are still doing it voluntarily. He is just one of the unlucky ones. Perhaps it is no surprise that I have also just had a form through asking if he and his class can take part in research on children concerns and anxities.His view? “I am a bit worried about it Dad.” Ha ha.

Leave a Reply

