Wee Yellow Butterfly

9781906134297I have been reading The Wee Yellow Butterfly, which is a book by and about Cathy McCormack, the community campaigner from Glasgow. Her activism started with her house damp and children affected.

“I was to go to a press conference in City Chambers to talk about fuel poverty” she writes. “I was up to high doh trying to get my hair dried when the power card for the meter ran out… so I ran to the post office and you should have seen the queue. I waited and spent 15 pounds to get the power back on – a big chunk of our benefit money.”

The book is an inspiring mix of personality, poverty and passion.

Leave a Reply

