Teamwork

Some great teamwork on display at the Supporters Direct conference over the weekend. 250 activist fans from across the UK came together to share notes, watch the match on Saturday and promote community ownership of sport.

In my talk today, I gave some of the findings that didn’t make our public release a few months ago:

  • Clubs whose fans would prefer them to be owned co-operatively by the fans include: Manchester United, Liverpool, Glasgow Rangers, Celtic, Cardiff and Portsmouth
  • Clubs whose fans prefer them owned as they are: Chelsea, Arsenal, Aston Villa.

When I played football myself, for Turnpike Lane, the only British team in the Latin American league on Clapham Common,  I was working for the World Development Movement – so I am happy to commend their ‘who do I cheer for?’ sent to me by Deborah.

It tells you which countries in the world cup are ahead on human rights and non-corruption.

It is all about teamwork in the end.

Leave a Reply

